Minor League Baseball Classification System

The classification system followed by the Minor League Baseball (MiLB) in America divides all its leagues into five classes. These classes are represented as Triple-A or AAA, Double-A or AA, Class A or Single-A, Class A Short Season and Rookie. The subdivisions of Class A are represented as Class A or Low-A and Class A-Advanced or High-A. The Class A Short Season is classified separately from other leagues that bear the "Class A" in their names by the minor league affiliation regulations, especially the Rule 51 of the Major League Baseball.

Triple-A (AAA)

There are currently two affiliated leagues in the AAA classification: the Pacific Coast League and the International League. The Mexican League is classified as a Triple-A league as well. Although, the owner clubs of this league do not have any PDCs with the Major League clubs.

Minor League Baseball Classification System The Triple-A teams have both veterans and young players. Every major league club prepares a roster which contains the names of 40 players. But these players do not usually take part in the major league matches. Fifteen of these players are retained by the teams. The 40 players on the roster at AAA are sometimes invited to major league clubs after the expansion of the major league roster on 1st September. However, the teams generally wait for the playoffs of their affiliations to be over, in case they qualify. This allows the teams, who have chances of winning a league, to have new players. Other teams who are not in contention of the leagues get a chance of evaluating their second-tier players whom they could use in major-league matches.

Double-A (AA)

This classification contains three leagues: Southern League, Texas League and the Eastern League. Players can reach the majors from the AA as many prospective players are selected in these teams to play opposite each other. This way, the clubs can recognize new talents easily than putting the young players in the Triple-A to play against major and minor league veterans. Sometimes, experienced baseball players from foreign leagues are also placed in the Double-A with the expectations of their moving on to major league by the next season.

Class-A (A)

The two sub-classifications of this classification are Class A-Advanced and Class A. Less experienced players are placed here so that they can gain control over the ball and become more consistent in batting

Class A-Advanced: This is just one level under the AA. The California League, the Carolina League and Florida State Leaguehe leagues participate in the Class A-Advanced. The minor league players require two to three promotions to reach this level. But player with college experience generally start in the Class A-Advanced.

Class A: Class-A leagues are ranked below the Class A-Advanced. The Midwest League and South Atlantic League play at this level.

Class A-Short Season

In spite of having the "Class-A" in the name, Class A-Short Season is a completely separate classification from other Class-A leagues. The young players who do not have much experience in playing baseball play in this level. As suggested by the name, Class A-Short Season has a rather small season which starts in June and ends in early September.


Rookie is the lowest classification in the Minor League Baseball. Like the Class A-Short Season, the Rookie classification also has a shortened season from June to early September